Gratis/Official Visa

The holder of a Diplomatic or Official Passport or a passport with a valid Diplomatic or Official endorsement will not be required to pay any fees for the visa.

Foreign nationals intending to visit Sri Lanka for Diplomatic or Official purposes should forward their ETA applications to the Department of Immigration & Emigration through relevant Sri Lanka Government Ministries and Agencies or Sri Lanka Overseas Missions.


  • Gratis (Free of Charge) basis is applicable only for Diplomatic and Official passport holders.
  • The Gratis ETA is granted for ordinary passport holders, on the basis of arrangements made between the Government of Sri Lanka and the respective countries.
  • Diplomatic & Official passport holders should follow the normal ETA application procedure for their personal visits. However, the Gratis ETA is granted for Diplomatic and official passport holders, on the basis of arrangements made between the Government of Sri Lanka and the respective Foreign Governments
  • Diplomatic and official passport holders should not apply Tourist/Business ETA for their official visits or to engage in any official assignments in Sri Lanka. Please note that Tourist/Business ETA cannot be converted into a Residence visa at any circumstances.
  • Diplomatic & Official/Service passport holders from the following countries are exempted from the ETA processing fee and the ETA procedures for their official and private visits to Sri Lanka. A visit visa will be issued on arrival to Sri Lanka for passport holders of these countries.
CountryType of PassportDuration of the Visa period
Socialist Republic of VietnamDiplomatic, Official90 Days
Republic of CubaDiplomatic90 Days
Republic of IndonesiaDiplomatic, Official, Service30 Days
Union of MyanmarDiplomatic, Official, Service30 Days
Islamic Republic of PakistanDiplomatic, Official30 Days
Federative Republic of BrazilDiplomatic, Official, Service90 Days
Republic of ChileDiplomatic, Official90 Days
Republic of SeychellesDiplomatic, Official, Ordinary60 days at each visit and cumulative duration of 90 days in a year
Peoples Republic of China (PRC)Diplomatic, Official, Service, Public AffairsUp to 30 days
Kingdom of ThailandDiplomatic, OfficialNot exceeding 90 days
Republic of KenyaDiplomatic, OfficialUp to 30 days
Republic of BelarusDiplomatic, OfficialUp to 30 days
Islamic Republic of IranDiplomatic, Official, ServiceUp to 30 days
Republic of MaldivesDiplomatic, Official, OrdinaryExemption of Ninety days Visa fee
  Republic of SingaporeDiplomatic, Official, OrdinaryUp to 30 days
Republic of IndiaDiplomatic, Official (for diplomatic and
official visits only) (If employed by an International body or agency, Visa/ETA should be obtained for official and private visits)
30 days
Russian FederationDiplomatic, Official, Service30 days
Republic of PhilippinesDiplomatic, Official30 days
Republic of KazakhstanDiplomatic, Service30 days
Government of GeorgieDiplomatic, Official/ServiceNot exceeding 90 days in any 180 days period
Republic of RomaniaDiplomaticNot exceeding 90 days within any 180 days
Hong Kong SARCitizens of Hong Kong SAR30 days
BangladeshDiplomatic, Official30 days
State of QatarDiplomatic and Special passportUp to 30 days